The Season of Not Knitting As Much

I divide the year into two seasons: Knitting Season, which runs from about the time the leaves begin to turn in September until the heat of the summer sets in around Memorial Day, and The Season of Not Knitting As Much, which comprises the hot months of June, July, August, and a goodly portion of September. Every year, as the days lengthen and the snow recedes, I tell myself that this will be the year that I maintain my Knitting Season pace. And every year, I do not manage that feat.

In summer, there are just too many priorities that compete with knitting for me to keep up the wintertime pace. The garden has to be planted out, the porches cleaned and kept that way, and there is always weeding, weeding, weeding. Then, the produce begins to flow. Soon, I’ll be putting up greens and probably strawberries, too. Later, it’ll be apricots, cherries, peaches, apples, and peppers. Weekend afternoons spent knitting will have to wait until the harvest is over, or mostly so.

Of course, I do manage to keep some knitting going all year ’round. I always have a purse project, for instance. In the midst of getting the garden and yard ready for summer, I was still able to finish these socks for Chris:

Irvington Socks table Irvington Socks standing Irvington Socks sofa

The yarn is Knit Picks Hawthorne in Irvington, and the pattern is Ann Budd’s basic sock pattern from Getting Started Knitting Socks. I knit these on size 0 needles, owing to my loose knitting gauge, and cast on 72 stitches, which yielded socks to fit Chris’s size 10 1/2 (U.S.) feet.

What Chris really wanted were knee-length, heavy, hiking socks. I have a feeling the ones I knit him are going to be just fine, but gave him the option of letting me know if he really does want heavy socks, in which case I’ll throw some in the queue for fall.

As soon as these were off the needles, I cast on another pair as a purse project:

Blackberry Jam started Blackberry Jam w yarn

This is Knit Picks Felici in Blackberry Jam. These will be for my niece’s birthday in September. I’m using GlennaC’s A Nice Ribbed Sock pattern.

And so it will go this summer. I’ll get a few odds and ends off the needles and put up food for winter, when I’ll have more time for knitting. But now, I’ve got to get back out and plant seeds for dill and chamomile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

