Super Freaky-Fast Super Bulky

I’m staring down the toothy maw of the holidays, and I’m starting to panic, but just a little. This weekend was to be a quiet time in which I could do some prep work for Thanksgiving and even Christmas, because the guys were supposed to go camping with the Scouts. The campout was cancelled due to extreme cold, so instead of having me a nice, quiet prep weekend, I ended up with quite the opposite when my husband decided to invite over several dozen people from Scouts for a party — sort of a consolation for not going camping. While the result was fun, I’ve gotten no prep done and now I have exactly one weekend betwixt me and Thanksgiving, and about all the time from Thanksgiving through New Year’s is spoken for.

All of which makes it even more crazy that I decided to cast on yet another project in the midst of all the pre-holiday rush. Last year, I made this super-bulky weight shawl from Imperial Yarn Native Twist in Teal. It’s casual and blankety, just like I wanted.

Easy Teal Shawl 2

I ended up with almost an entire skein of yarn left over. I debated making matching mitts, which is my favorite thing to do with yarn left over from shawl-making, but tabled the idea, because by the time I’d gotten around to it, spring was getting on and the last thing I wanted to do was to hold heavy, wool yarn in my hands as the weather warmed.

Fast-forward to now, and with an arctic cold front bearing down on us, keeping high temperatures in the single digits (Fahrenheit, so I’m being serious here), I decided that a quickie, warm project was in order.  In three knitting sessions, I had me a pair of mitts:

Bulky Teal Mitts

 

The pattern is Leftover Mitts.

 

They were on and off the needles before I even knew it, and now I have mitts to go with my shawl:

Mitts and Scarf

I don’t use super-bulky yarn that often, and this project made me question that practice.  I should probably keep a few skeins of super-bulky around for those times when I need an instant-gratification project for personal sanity or for a last-minute gift.

Ordinarily, I’d cast on another project to celebrate, keeping with my on-the-needles, off-the-needles rhythm. But these aren’t ordinary times. I really want to finish Chris’s sweater by Christmas, and the only way I’m going to eke out the knitter-hours between now and then is to knuckle down and knit that last sleeve. There’ll be plenty of time to give into startitis beginning on December 26th.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

