Travelling Projects

We’re back from our trip to London, which was 10 days of adventure. As usual, I packed an insane amount of knitting. Even for 10 days. Even for two crazy-long flights. Even for the lengthy tour bus jaunt and evenings on the hotel lobby bar sofa watching BBC.

I put a lot of thought into my travel knitting. Travel knitting needs to be compact. Anything that I’ll be knitting on the plane shouldn’t be overly complex. Hotel knitting can be a little more complicated, but I try to not take things that are going to require a lot of notions or other special care and feeding. So, for this trip, I took a simple shawlette, a slightly more complicated scarf, and my emergency back-up project was a lace scarf.

So, how did those projects work out?

Hitchhiker:

Hitchhiker almost done

I’m knitting Hitchhiker in good ol’ Malabrigo sock yarn (colorway: Pocion), and it did not disappoint. Actually, this project earns my highest honors as a travel project. Hitchhiker is a garter stitch shawlette with a sawtooth edge created by binding off a few stitches every so many rows. Ridiculously simple. The simplicity of the pattern meant that it was great for evenings when I was processing the day’s adventures and discussing the next day’s plans with my husband. I could pick the thing up and put it down whenever it suited me, and I didn’t have to worry about losing my place in a pattern or becoming so absorbed in a complex design that I ignored my husband (it was our 25th anniversary trip, after all).

Besides the simplicity, Hitchhiker has another couple of things going for it. For one, the yarn is very well-behaved. It’s springy, bouncy, and doesn’t split, fray, pill, or fuzz. Another good thing? The needles I chose for this project, Sunstruck, by Knit Picks, provide a high contrast to the dark yarn. They also provide just enough grab, too. The contrast and grab allowed me to knit easily in the gloom of a darkened airplane cabin and in the dimly lit hotel lobby bar. I couldn’t have chosen a better travel project.  All that said, I’m not quite finished with it, but it’s getting pretty close.

Fern Mist Scarf:

Fern Mist progress

This one suprised me. I thought I’d enjoy knitting it more, but I had issues. Before any trip, I try to make sure I’m happy with my chosen travel project, and that I am comfortable with the pattern and that the needles and yarn play well together. So, I dutifully cast this on weeks before the trip and verified that I liked the yarn and the pattern (check and check).

I was concerned that the slippery cashmere/silk blend wouldn’t work well with the slick Signature 7-inch straights. I knit a few rows and downsized to a size 1 needle, thinking the smaller size would help keep the stitches from sliding off the ends of the needle. Figuring that the problem was solved, I parked the project until we embarked on our trip.

I took the project with me on our bus ride to Stonehenge and Bath. While I found the pattern to be simple enough to be enjoyable to knit on the bus, I had to fight the tendency of the stitches to want to slide off the needle ends.

Fern Mist closeup

I didn’t pull that project out again during our trip, and will have to change over to 10-inch straights to better accommodate the stitches. Lesson learned: I need to be really sure that yarn and needles are compatible before I tuck a project into my luggage.

The yarn is CashSilk Lace from Sweet Georgia in Mist.

Meteliza Scarf:

Meteliza small progress

OK, so this was my emergency backup project. Yeah, I was going to a country with a long and storied knitting history and the yarn stores to match, but I wasn’t sure I’d have time to visit any and I didn’t want to come up short in the project department. Anyway, I didn’t work on this at all. I took this project because it was small and didn’t take up much room in my luggage. It’s kind of on my B team for travel projects, though, because it has a chart. Charts are OK, but if I can find a travel project that’s even simpler, that’s my preference.

Next up? I’ve got some business travel in June, so perhaps I’ll finish the Fern Mist scarf then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

