Easy Teal Shawl

In autumn, I’m usually back to business, as far as knitting is concerned. Holiday knitting deadlines loom. Warm things need to be knit for myself and my family. In autumn, I don’t often drop everything and knit something on impulse, but I did just that when I knit this Easy Teal Shawl. Actually, it’s called Easy Cranberry Shawl, but I knit it up in teal, so there you have it.

Last autumn, I’d picked up the lastest Love of Knitting, which included the shawl pattern. The following week, I was in my LYS, checking out the new winter yarns when I came across the store’s selection of Imperial Stock Yarns. One of them was Native Twist, in various interesting colors. The Heather Teal colorway caught my eye. Pencil roving, really, it was a single-ply that included all of my favorite colors — pink, blue, and purple.   I rarely knit something in super-bulky. Why not give this a try, just for fun?

I held the skein, debating what it should be. I remembered the shawl from Love of Knitting, and went over to the counter to look at a store copy. I looked at the photos and read the instructions again. The yarn would totally suit. Not only that, but the bulky weight would mean the project would be a quick knit, giving me time to also finish my Christmas knitting, too.

I wasted no time casting on. True to its name, the project was easy and fast, too. The finished shawl is a warm, blankety, casual shawl that I often throw on when I need an extra layer for walking out to the driveway to fetch the paper, or when my home office is a bit on the chilly side.

teal shawl front

Easy Teal Shawl 2

teal shawl closeup

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

