In Praise of Mittens

It’s been since last winter that I’ve had a mitten on the needles.  I’d forgotten how nice it is to have a simple project going — something that can be picked up and put down at odd moments and knitted on for a few rounds at a time.  Something that doesn’t require strict attention to a pattern.  Something easily transportable.

This week, I decided to change that.  I cast on for a pair of mittens to go with the Shawl-Collar Shawl I finished recently (photos of that are forthcoming, just as soon as I have the opportunity for some decent ones).

On Monday, while the guys were at Scouts, I cast on a mitten and worked the lace cuff.  Over the course of the week, I’d knit on it when I had a few minutes — while waiting for dinner to bake; before work, while waiting for my coffee to kick in; while waiting for clothes to finish drying.  And at the end of the week, I had a finished mitten:

Lacy Leaf Mitten

The yarn is Green Mountain Spinnery’s Mountain Mohair in blue-violet.  The cuff is Lacy Leaf Hat and Mittens.  That pattern calls for afterthought thumbs, and I find that gusseted thumbs fit so much better that for the mitten itself, I used Knit Simple Knitting Workshop’s mitten pattern by Charlotte Parry.  It fits great.  I’ll be casting on for the second mitten this week.  We’ll see if I can use up those odd moments of the week to have the pair completed by the weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Praise of Mittens

  1. Pingback: A Note to the Knitting Fates | A Rocky Mountain Knitter

Leave a Reply

