Travelling Woman Shawl

Although I finished this shawl in May, I just now got around to doing a photo shoot worthy of it.  We went out to dinner the other night with my family, and I took the opportunity to have Steve take photos before the whole gang arrived.

TW Loose 2

The pattern is Travelling Woman, and the yarn is Merino Silk Lace by Sweet Georgia Yarns, in Coastal.  I couldn’t be happier with the pattern, the yarn, or the finished shawl.

TW Back

The pattern was a treat to knit.  I bought the eBook and printed out the charts, which were large, accurate, and easy to read without having to do a bunch of enlargements.  Most of it is stockinette.  I opted to do six repeats of the lace pattern, and I had enough yarn left over that I probably could have done one more if I wanted to.  It’s easy enough and lightweight enough to be conducive to travelling (or engaging conversation while knitting, or both).

TW Stretched

The yarn was a pleasure to knit.  It’s soft without being fragile and develops a nice bloom upon blocking.  I loved the colorway, too, which seemed to encompass all shades of blue and green right there in a skein.  I’m glad I bought more in other colorways to knit up.

TW Tied

The shawl, which I thought would be more triangular, is actually more of a crescent.  So, I didn’t use blocking wires to block it, but instead pinned out the points.  The finished shawl is about 20 inches wide at its widest point, and the crescents provide elongated ends that tie gracefully.  It’s a whisper-light, soft layer that provides just the right amount of warmth in air-conditioned spaces without being so oppressive when I go outside on a warm evening.

I’m thrilled to have this as part of my wardrobe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

