Deadline Knitting

As my third and final business trip of the year loomed, and work got even crazier, and the approaching holiday obligations became impossible to ignore any longer, I all-of-a-sudden was smacked with Deadline Knitting.

Yes, me.  Overworked, overscheduled me, who has assiduously avoided any and all unnecessary obligations for the six months that I’ve been pinch-hitting for my boss and doing two jobs at once, now has deadline knitting.  All for good causes and good reasons, though.

The first project on deadline was the Yarn Harlot’s One-Row Scarf that I started when I went to a football game on Parents Weekend and needed something super-easy to do while we watched the game.  In the weeks after that good start to the scarf, I took the project to various appointments and also worked on it on those evenings when work left me so exhausted that a simple project was all I could manage.  Lesson learned — I need to keep a very simple project going for times like those.

The scarf became a deadline project when a colleague (who is also a knitter) asked me if I had a handknit item I could donate to the office that would be one of several rewards available to people who donated to our annual charity drive.  With the scarf already mostly done, I was happy to agree.  I rushed and finished the scarf before I left for Thanksgiving vacation.

 

 

The other deadline knitting is a result of a baby boom among some friends and relatives.  In the span of a week, I found out about three expected babies.  One friend and his wife are expecting their second child in April.  I knitted their first baby a hooded baby blanket, which they used until he grew too large for it and told me many times how much they all loved it.  That gives them an A+ in my book of knitted gift receivers, so they get top billing for more baby handknits.

I happened to have an off-Friday right after he announced the happy news, so I planned an excursion to my LYS and picked up some Butterfly mercerized cotton.  I thought back to the days when my younger son was born, and my aunt knitted him an openwork blanket from mercerized cotton in a practical off-white color.  I thought a similar blanket would make a nice gift.  With a little research, I decided on Jared Flood’s Shale Baby Blanket, and cast on.

My business trip was fast approaching.  I had planned to take the Rosebud Shawl and crank through the third edging as best I could, but I decided to take the baby blanket instead.  I’ve made a huge amount of progress on this simple but elegant pattern.  It’s an easy four-row repeat, and my stilleto-tipped Signature Needle Arts needles handle the SSSSKs and K4togs with no problems.  This will be a good project to work on over the holidays, when visiting with relatives while knitting demands uncomplicated projects.

 

I haven’t decided about handknits for the other two babies yet — I’ll wait until this blanket is finished.

I’m making some progress on my other, non-deadline knitting.  I’m trying to do a repeat on the Rosebud Shawl edging about every night, and I can see that the end of the third side is coming up, although not as quickly as I’d like.   I’ve got the Diamonds and Rings Aran cast on, and thanks to a marathon knitting session on Thanksgiving afternoon, I’ve almost gotten two repeats done on the back.

The weeks from about Halloween to Candlemas (that’s February 1, and the halfway point between Winter Solstice and the Vernal Equinox in the Northern Hemisphere) provide me with the most opportunities for knitting.  The wintry weather and long nights are always a good excuse to sit and knit warm things.  Even with my added work responsibilities, I’ve still managed to ramp up my knitting over the past few weeks.  My boss will be back after the New Year, which will free up more time for me to knit (and blog) more.  And now that I’m back from my travels, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to post more often than I have in recent months.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

