New Yarn

Today was not quite as knitting-optimized as I would have liked.  I had appointments and errands strewn across the day, and was uncertain as to the amount of downtime I’d have between each, so I packed my tote with a little bit of everything I thought I’d need and took off for the day.

My tote could pass for a large purse, and is big enough for all of my purse items, plus iPad, water bottle, snacks, and a not-too-big knitting project, so I could pretty much be dropped any place on Earth and be well provisioned for a day or so.  Today, I took the Melbourne Pullover sleeve and hoped I’d have some time to work on it.

As it turns out, my downtime came in increments that just seemed too fleeting to pull out the sleeve.  Perhaps if I were a sock knitter, I’d have knitted here and there, but I’m more of a sweater knitter.  If I added up all of today’s downtime, I’d surely have gotten an inch or so done on the sleeve, but it’s just hard for me to do in such short bits and pieces.  By the time I’d have the needles, knitting, and pattern all out and arranged, I’d be called in to another appointment.

Instead, I contented myself with reading the Yarn Harlot’s latest book on my iPad, which was, at least, knitting-related and far less frustrating than hauling my knitting in and out of my tote.  But at the end of the day, I don’t have any knitting progress.

I did come home to more yarn for swatching and another color card, so that was pretty exciting.

From the UK, I received a lovely shade card from Frangipani:

This is a very nice 5-ply Gansey yarn that looks like it’ll have a smooth hand.  My ultimate goal is a gansey for my older son, but first, I’ll make a wrap for myself featuring various nautical motifs, which will give me practice with the yarn and a whole bunch of motifs for my son to choose for his sweater.  I’m planning on the Aran colorway, but I can’t get started on this one until I have the Melbourne Pullover and Saxon Braid Aran off the needles.  At least the Melbourne, anyway, as that’s been languishing far too long.

Next up, the Jamieson’s yarn arrived from Camilla Valley Farm.

I can tell that this yarn is going to knit up beautifully.  I’ll be considering both the Jamieson’s and the Black Water Abbey yarns for my next two Arans.  Swatchfest begins just as soon as the Melbourne is done.

Speaking of which, it’s coming along, but not as quickly as I would have liked.  I will take it with me when I go to my scrapbooking retreat this weekend to knit on when I have time. Yes, I do take knitting to a scrapbooking retreat.  While I could knit all day, I do need a break from scrapbooking after so many hours at it, and knitting is a great respite.

So, I’m off for back-to-back travel.  I will post about my adventures just as soon as I can.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

