Progress on the Simplified St. Brigid

In the few minutes I have before I run off to knit meetup, I’ll catch you up on  my St. Brigid sweater progress.  I’ve finished and am blocking the second sleeve right now.  I’m not posting photos, because it (thankfully) looks like the first sleeve, which has had its own photo session.

Somewhere, between back-to-school week, work obligations, and putting up the various produce that’s now coming in, I’ll get the sweater put together and work on the collar.  With any luck at all, I’ll be able to have something halfway photogenic to post next weekend.

In the meantime, I’m going to turn my attention to the Encompass cowl.  I was packing that particular knitting back for knit meetup when I realized I was low on yarn.  I went downstairs to get the last ball of yarn, when I realized, to my dismay, that I was, in fact, using the last ball of yarn, and I’m most of the way through that.

I thought three balls would be plenty, but I remembered I’d added a bit of ribbing to the edge, and I think that’s what’s going to put me, well, over the edge.  I’ll have to check with my LYS to see if I can get another skein.  Otherwise, I’m going to have to take out the ribbing, which I really like.

I always, always, have extra yarn.  I purchase an insane amount of yarn for each project, due to 1) Murphy’s Yarn Law and 2) my proclivity for swatching and re-swatching.  In this case, though, I didn’t swatch (gauge wasn’t that critical), and guesstimated, based on many scarves, that three skeins would be perfectly fine.  Sigh.

Other things that are keeping me occupied:  Colorado may have a short growing season, but there is a point every summer where the abundance is evident.  Our CSA has provided us with a half-peck of peaches per week for three weeks straight, so we’re enjoying some now, and putting up the rest in the freezer to enjoy during our long winter.  I’ve also been drying herbs from the garden and put about a quart of lavender buds in storage to use in recipes, but mostly to use in sachets to give as Christmas gifts.  Next up: sage and rosemary.  Tarragon butter, too, I think.

The boys start school tomorrow.  This will be our last back-to-school week with two boys, as DS #1 heads off to college next year.  So, yes, it’s crazy, but I’m trying to give myself over to the craziness this time.  Next year will be quieter around here, and perhaps a touch melancholy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

