The Last Stitch

The Painted Cables Scarf is finished, at last.  Actually, it’s been done for over a week, but I just wove the ends in.

I’d like to say that I’m happy about this project, but I’m anything but.  While the pattern was fun and easy to knit, the yarn fought me the entire time.  Even when I was weaving in ends, it would fray and break.  Things got to the point where I just couldn’t wait for the project to be over so I could be finished working with the yarn.

Now, I’m left with a FO that has several awkward transitions in it, due to the problems I had with the yarn.  I had planned to put this in my Christmas present box to give away this year, but I don’t like the final outcome enough to give it as a gift.  It may end up going to charity.

At least it’s done, and I can focus more on the St. Brigid sweater, which is going very well, and the Rosebud Shawl, which is also coming along.  I’ll post photos of the St. Brigid sweater once I finish the front, which will be just another repeat.  I’ll also post photos of the Rosebud Shawl, which isn’t very far along yet, but is promising to be a fun project, too.  I think I may swatch the Yarn Harlot’s Encompass cowl next, which I think will make nice Christmas presents.  Or, I’ll do another cabled scarf.  I’m not sure exactly what my next gift project will be, but I have to believe that the next FO will be better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

