Coming Full Circle

I think I have a case of both finish-it-up-itis and startitis. I came down with the finish-it-up-itis when I realized I made a lot more progress on the Travelling Scarf (a/k/a the Oriel Lace Scarf) than I’d previously thought. One or two more repeats and I can call that done.

The scarf is nearly 60 inches long now, and so it’s unwieldy to take on my travels, and in any event, with it being so close to finished, I might as well finish it up at home.

Realizing I was so close to finishing the Travelling Scarf, which has been my companion on countless trips over several years, led me to think about what ought to be my next travelling project.

After doing a bit of research, I’ve decided on Sharon Miller’s Rosebud Scarf, available on her website here.  I’ll knit it up in Jamieson & Smith’s cobweb weight yarn in white.   I’ve ordered both, and I hope they’ll arrive in time for my next trip in June.

Another white lace project, you ask?  Well, yes, but this one is going to be different enough from the Oriel Lace Scarf to hold my attention.  For one thing, it’s a shawl, rather than a scarf, and will have a center, border, and edging rather than one repeating motif.  Yes, it’s white, but it’ll go with my dresses well.  Yes, it’s another laceweight project, but those make terrific travel projects for those of us who are not devoted sock knitters.

With any luck at all, there won’t be too much time between when I block the Oriel Lace Scarf and when the pattern and yarn arrive for the Rosebud Shawl.  I am so looking forward to knitting it up during my summer travels!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

