A Turning Point

As you can see, I haven’t posted on this blog for over a week.  It’s been pretty crazy, what with Eric’s birthday, his school play, Easter, and now, getting ready for our various travels.  Nevertheless, I reached the halfway point on the Painted Cables Scarf.

So far, the scarf-in-progress looks pretty good.

I’m not particularly crazy about the yellow that wound up in there — if I had it to do over again, I’d probably cut that out (that color appears nowhere else in any of the three painted skeins) and keep the colors shades of pink, purple, and blue.  But I’ll live with it.  I’m looking forward to having this scarf done, so I can play with this:

and this:

I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do with them yet — perhaps more scarves or perhaps the Yarn Harlot’s Encompass cowls.  I’ll have to give it some thought.

I’ve also managed to finish the back of the St. Brigid sweater:

This blocked out nicely to the measurements I needed, 18 X 23 inches, with four repeats of the main cable patterns.  As always, more details are available on my Ravelry page.

I will be off and running, working on the front now.  I expect I’ll  be finished about the time we have our first major heatwave of the season.  I will post another update in a week or so.  It won’t be this weekend, as I will be at a scrapbooking retreat.

In case you’re wondering how someone could cram in a scrapbooking hobby on top of a knitting obsession on top of a full-time job, well, the scrapbooking isn’t a major hobby.  I do try to devote two whole weekends per year to it so that I can keep on top of our family albums, but that’s about all.

My upcoming travels for work mean that I’ll be taking the Travelling Scarf with me, so I’ll post an update on that once I’m back home.  I’m hoping to finish up the last twelve inches of it pretty soon, and will choose another travel project after that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Turning Point

  1. Tina says:

    Your scarf is coming along nicely ~ can’t wait to see it finished 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

